Past ODY Recipients
Award Nomination Criteria


Orchestra Director of the Year

Each year the TODA Board of Directors selects an orchestra director or teacher who has served his or her professional nobly and selflessly, leaving the mark of love, kindness and good musicianship on the students he or she has trained.  This is the highest honor TODA bestows and is highly regarded by all of our members.

Kay Vanlandingham - 2022 Recipient

Congratulations to Kay Vanlandingham, this year's Orchestra Director of the year! 

Kay is the Administrative Director for the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA). She coordinates the TMEA Mentoring Network, Texas Future Music Educators program, TMEA Scholarship program, CPE Credit and TMEA Region Grants. Before her position at TMEA she taught orchestra students, at every level, for 31 years. She served Round Rock ISD as Fine Arts Facilitator, Orchestra Liaison, and fine arts department chair. She was the conductor for the Austin Youth Orchestra from 1994-2017 and most recently served as President on the AYO Board of Directors.  She holds memberships and affiliations Mu Omicron, TMAA, and served on the Committee on Standards of Adjudication and Performance Practice as well as chaired the UIL PML Orchestra Committee multiple times. Ms. Vanlandingham currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Center of Educator Development in the Fine Arts (CEDFA). She enjoys serving as a judge and clinician across the state.

It is TODA's privilege and honor to recognize Kay Vanlandingham as this year's Orchestra Director of the Year!

Orchestra Director of Distinction

Nicole Brown

2022 Recipient



Young Educator Award

Erik Cavazos - 2022 Recipient
Emily Hornbake - 2022 Recipient